Nigeria As A Name


Nigeria was coined from the two root words, 'niger' and 'area', by Miss Flora Shaw (later Mrs lugard, the first Governor-General of Nigeria) in 1898.

It came into existence as a nation after the 1914 amalgamation of the Northern and Southern Protectorates, by Sir Lord Lugard.

Nigeria is bounded in the West by Benin Republic, in the East by Chad and Cameroun, and in the North by Niger Republic.

It became independent on October 1. 1960 and a republic on October 1. 1963. It's capital was Calabar, until 1960 when it was moved to Lagos, and later to Abuja on December. 12, 1991, by the then millitary ruler of Nigeria, Gen. Ibrahim Babangida.

Post a Comment